Stages of Religious Development Essay

Published: 2020-04-22 15:24:05
364 words
2 pages
printer Print
essay essay

Category: Development

Type of paper: Essay

This essay has been submitted by a student. This is not an example of the work written by our professional essay writers.

Hey! We can write a custom essay for you.

All possible types of assignments. Written by academics

School Psychologist James Fowler determined six stages of faith or religious development. The following describes each of them. Stage 1: Intuitive-Projective (ages 3-7). Fantasy-filled belief imitates powerful adults in the childs life, influenced by the moods, actions, and stories in the nuclear family to provide imagination, but without logic. The child is indoctrinated with local customs and taboos within the nuclear family and community and fact and fiction are seen as the same. Stage 2: Mythic-Literal (middle/later childhood).

A child internalizes stories, beliefs, and customs of the community with a literal interpretation to be used as moral attitudes and rules about right and wrong. This is a linear, concrete belief/reasoning that evokes narrative, drama, and storytelling, belief in justice and quid pro quo reciprocity, anthropomorphism of puzzling powers; and a lack of critical evaluation, but strong legalism. Stage 3: Synthetic-Conventional (Tweens and Early Adolescence). An individual experiences the classroom, work, peers/non-peers, diversity in the streets, media, and religion.

Power seemingly comes from the top, down and conformity is compelling. Stage 4: Individuative-Reflective (Adolescence Early Adult). The individual wrestles with self-identity and ponders his/her own responsibility for choices. An existential reasoning element overwrites mythology in the quest for Truth while considering that there may exist no absolutes. Critical thinking, evaluation, and problem solving skills take shape to solve differences between personal identity and ideology (worldview).

71203856 James Fowlers Stages of Religious Development 2 Stage 5: Conjunctive Faith (Middle Adult). Here, one must consider and accept paradoxes and opposing views through adaptation and integration of information within and without. One examines ones accepted myths, ideals, and prejudices about social class, religion, ethnicity, and other demographics. One accepts the failures of ones belief system or becomes a withdrawn cynic that cannot function.

Stage 6: Enlightenment or Universalizing Faith (Middle or Late Adult). This stage is rarely accomplished, but embraces a sense of being one with the universe and all things. Ones individual existence loses importance, as does making a living, etc. Conflicts no longer confuse this person. Examples are the concept of the ancient guru on the mountaintop, Pope John Paul II, and Mahatma Ghandi.


Santrock, J. W. (2007) Adolescence. Twelfth edition. (pp. 264 265). New York: McGraw-Hill.

Warning! This essay is not original. Get 100% unique essay within 45 seconds!


We can write your paper just for 11.99$

i want to copy...

This essay has been submitted by a student and contain not unique content

People also read